A Certain Ration - To Each LP (Red Vinyl)


Mute presents a colored vinyl reissue of A Certain Ratio's landmark album To Each..., originally released on the venerable Factory Records in 1981. The 9-track collection forged a link between The Big Apple and Manchester laying bare A Certain Ratio's exotic musicality. Full of chunk-a-chunk pops and rim-shots, these are white boys drunk on a funk dream, shedding a lot of their early punkishness and focusing on delivering tight, highly percussive funk grooves through producer Martin Hannett's woozy psychedelic atmospherics. Here is funk for the mind, not the body. To Each... is full of classic A Certain Ratio tracks, with highlights including "Choir," "The Fox" and "Oceans." The album is reproduced faithfully, complete with gatefold packaging and the beautiful cover designed by Peter Christopherson (a musician in his own right with Throbbing Gristle and Coil).

  1. Felch
  2. My Spirit
  3. Forced Laugh
  4. Choir
  5. Back To The Start
  6. The Fox
  7. Loss
  8. Oceans
  9. Winter Hill