Beat Street Records

Belle And Sebastian - Dear Catastrophe Waitress 2LP


Belle And Sebastian Dear Catastrophe Waitress on 2LP + Download Coupon


Matador Records It Could Have Been A Brilliant Career Vinyl Reissue Series

First Time on Matador with Brand New Artwork


As Belle and Sebastian finish work on their ninth studio album (recorded in Atlanta with Ben H. Allen), Matador Records is excited to announce that their vinyl catalog – currently out of print – will be back in print for a limited time in the fall of 2014. The It Could Have Been A Brilliant Career series is an opportunity to revisit the band’s treasured output and unique, consistent aesthetic, as well as an opportunity for fans to complete their collections and enjoy the music via the warmth of vinyl.

Titles include all of the band’s full-length studio albums and compilations (save for the Storytelling soundtrack, which was never released on vinyl in the US) such as Tigermilk (1996), If You’re Feeling Sinister (1996), The Boy With The Arab Strap (1998), Fold Your Hands Child You Walk Like a Peasant (2000), Dear Catastrophe Waitress (2003), Push Barman To Open Old Wounds (2005), The Life Pursuit (2006), The BBC Sessions (2008), Write About Love (2010) and The Third Eye Centre (2013). 

For a band with such a modest, homespun feel, the utilization of a big pop producer like Trevor Horn was an interesting choice for 2003's Dear Catastrophe Waitress. It proved to be a stroke of brilliance, however as Horn wonderfully expands Belle & Sebastian's palette here in a completely organic, extremely effective manner. The arrangements are more fleshed-out than usual, the textures more varied and the overall sound a bit more sprightly and sunny. 

The interaction of Belle & Sebastian's trademark twisted-twee songcraft and unerring melodic sensibility with the effervescence of Horn's production makes Dear Catastrophe Waitress one of the group's most instantly appealing albums. Includes the hit singles, "Step Into My Office, Baby" and "I'm A Cuckoo." Matador's new Catastrophe Waitress reissue will also include brand new cover art

Belle And Sebastian Dear Catastrophe Waitress Track Listing:

1. Step Into My Office, Baby 
2. Dear Catastrophe Waitress 
3. If She Wants Me 
4. Piazza, New York Catcher 
5. Asleep On A Sunbeam 
6. I'm A Cuckoo 

1. You Don't Send Me 
2. Wrapped Up In Books 
3. Lord Anthony 
4. If You Find Yourself Caught In Love 
5. Roy Walker 
6. Stay Loose 


Latest Tweets