Beat Street Records

Bill Evans Trio At Shelly's Manne-Hole LP

Original Jazz Classics

This is the last album Bill Evans made for his first label. That fact alone would give this at least historical significance; and there is surely also some importance to its being one of only two occasions on which the pianist was recorded for Riverside during "live" performance (the other, or course, resulted in the classic pair of Village Vanguard albums). But above all, these two nights at Shelly Manne's club in Hollywood marked the only recording by the excellent but short-term third trio; after the untimely death of Scott LaFaro, bassist Chuck Israels joined Bill and Paul Motian; then in 1963 Los Angeles studio-stalwart drummer Larry Bunker made this brief but noteworthy contribution to the Evans legend.

Bill Evans, piano
Chuck Israels, bass
Larry Bunker, drums

  1. Isn't It Romantic
  2. The Boy Next Door
  3. Wonder Why
  4. Swedish Pastry
  5. Our Love Is Here To Stay
  6. 'Round Midnight
  7. Stella By Starlight
  8. Blues In "F"


Latest Tweets