Beat Street Records

De La Soul - The Grind Date 2LP (Bonus Tracks)


Originally issued in 2004, The Grind Date is the seventh studio album from hip hop luminaries De La Soul and last until their 2012 project Plug 1 & Plug 2 Present...First Serve. Just before the group could release the third volume in their Art Official Intelligence (AOI) series they had a falling out with Tommy Boy and subsequently switched gears and labels. The critically acclaimed Grind Date would be their their first and only studio release for Sanctuary Records and is home to the singles "Shoomp," "Shopping Bags (She Got From You)" and "Rock Co.Kane Flow." The album is noted for its array of top producers including Supa Dave West, J-Dilla, Madlib and 9th Wonder and diverse guest artists like Common, Ghostface Killah, MF Doom, Flava Flav and Sean Paul. This 2020 double vinyl LP reissue also features four previously unreleased instrumental bonus tracks.


Latest Tweets