Beat Street Records

Etta James - Rocks The House LP


Blues, soul, jazz, R&B, and rock vocalist Etta James, needs no introduction. An icon from early rock ’n’ roll’s pantheon of divas, she has inspired five decades of listeners and fellow artists with her vocal styling. From Janis Joplin to Beyonce, her expressive and guttural style has been imitated but never quite matched.
Best known for the lush 1961 rendition of the ballad “At Last” – a slow-dance staple at wedding celebrations everywhere, she also is celebrated for having recorded one of the best live albums of all time, Rocks the House. Recorded in 1963 at the New Era Club in Nashville, James is captured at her performance peak. The foundation for her reputation as a fiery no-holds-barred performer, are firmly established in this recording.
Jackpot Records is honored to release this momentous record on colored vinyl, with the original album artwork and 3 bonus tracks which have only ever been released previously on CD. Her powerful version of “Something’s Got a Hold on Me” will surely shake you to your core while her impassioned version of “All I Could Do Is Cry,” will shatter you to pieces.
Track Listing:
1.  Something's Got A Hold On Me
2.  Baby What You Want Me To Do
3.  What'd I Say
4.  Money (That's What I Want)
5.  Seven Day Fool
6.  Sweet Little Angel
7.  Ooh Poo Pah Doo
8.  Woke Up This Morning
9.  Ain't That Lovin' You Baby
10. All I Could Do Is Cry
11. I Just Want To Make Love To You


Latest Tweets