Beat Street Records

Prince - 1999 2LP (180g)


Records don't come more influential or stunning than 1999. Originally released in 1982, 1999 signified Prince's fifth full-length album and first to feature The Revolution as his backing band. The breakthrough set gave him his Top Ten album and paved the way for what would be an unrivaled pop run for the next decade, culminating in an international stardom and literally revolutionary creativity. Moreover, the synth- and drum-machine-dominant arrangements on 1999, as well as its surfeit of dance grooves, rock anthems, and insanely catchy hooks wrote the script for nearly every artist that followed, as well as what transpired in the house, electronic, and techno fields.

Rolling Stone nailed the record's appeal when the magazine named it #163 on its list of the 500 Greatest Albums of All Time:

The second half of 1999 is just exceptional sex-obsessed dance music; the first half is the best fusion of rock and funk achieved to that date, and it lays out the blueprint for Prince's next decade. Except for a few background hand claps and vocals, Prince plays most every instrument himself and creates a relentless, irresistible musical sequence of apocalypse ("1999") and raunchy sex that he proposes as the only possible response — "Little Red Corvette," "Let's Pretend We're Married," "Delirious" and, well, just about every other song on the album.
--Rolling Stone, "The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time," November 2003

If any more evidence was needed of the double-LP's greatness, just take a look at the track listing. Yet, in addition to the hits, Prince also provides worthwhile sonic experimentation and ventures into areas he'd previously bypassed. It's no wonder that no artist of his generation--and arguably, no musician from any generation--has covered so much ground. Such breadth is what helps make 1999 so distinctive.

After more than two decades of being out of print, 1999 is finally back on vinyl--and how. Mastered from the original tapes, with lacquers cut by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering, and pressed at RTI on 180g double vinyl, this is the very best version you'll ever hope to hear. No longer will you have to settle for the slightly compressed original or nearly unlistenable CD versions. Rhino's analog reissue also boasts replicate original packaging.

 Track Listing:

1. 1999
2. Little Red Corvette
3. Delirious
4. Let's Pretend We're Married
5. D.M.S.R.

1. Automatic
2. Something In The Water (Does Not Compute)
3. Free
4. Lady Cab Driver
5. All The Critics Love U In New York
6. International Lover


Latest Tweets