Beat Street Records

Sepultura - Arise: Expanded 2LP


Sepultura hit its stride in 1991 when the Brazilian quartet released its acclaimed fourth record, Arise. Certified platinum, the album includes indispensable thrash/death metal tracks like "Under Siege (Regnum Irae)" and "Dead Embryonic Cells." Atlantic/Warner Bros. revisits this raucous classic with a remastered version of the original album that's been expanded with 10 rare and unreleased studio and live recordings.

Following the breakthrough success of 1989's
Beneath The Remains, Sepultura regrouped in Florida to record Arise with producer Scott Burns. Thrash and death metal were the album's primary sources of inspiration, but tracks like "Desperate Cry" revealed the band's love for hardcore punk, while the tribal rhythms of "Altered State" foreshadowed a new direction the band would explore on future albums.

Previously unreleased highlights include a version of "Infected Voice" from writing sessions that took place in March 1990, as well as basic tracks for "Murder," "Altered State" and more. The bonus LP also features the vinyl debut of concert recordings originally released on the band's first home video, Under Seige (Live In Barcelona), including "Arise" and "Dead Embryonic Cells."


  1. Arise (Remastered)
  2. Dead Embryonic Cells (Remastered)
  3. Desperate Cry (Remastered)
  4. Murder (Remastered)
  5. Subtraction (Remastered)
  6. Altered State (Remastered)
  7. Under Siege (Regnum Irae) [Remastered]
  8. Meaningless Movements (Remastered)
  9. Infected Voice (Remastered)


  1. Arise (Live In Barcelona 1991)
  2. Dead Embryonic Cells (Live in Barcelona 1991)
  3. Desperate Cry (Live in Barcelona 1991)
  4. Murder (Arise Writing Sessions, August 1989)
  5. Murder (Basic Track)
  6. Altered State (Basic Track)
  7. Under Siege (from Regnum Irae) [Basic Track]
  8. Meaningless Movements (Arise Writing Sessions, March 1990)
  9. Infected Voice (Arise Writing Sessions, March 1990)
  10. Orgasmatron (Studio Version) [Remastered]