Beat Street Records

Sigur Ros - Von 2LP

XL Recordings

Originally issued in 1997, Von (hope) is the debut full-length album from widely acclaimed Icelandic post-rock outfit Sigur Ros. The sound across these 12 tracks is reassuringly primitive, though often daring, drifting from 4AD-inspired quasi-shoegazing atmospherics at one moment to John-Cage inspired silence the next. The band was quite obviously at this stage not only looking at the reverberating echoes of the British indie scene of the late 80’s, but also in its more ambitious forefather, prog rock. Frequently unrecognizable from the bulk of their subsequent work, Von is an experimental and ambient work.
Track Listing:
1. Sigur Rós
2. Dögun
3. Hún Jörð…
4. Leit að lífi
5. Myrkur
6. 18 sekúndur fyrir sólarupprás
7. Hafssól
1. Veröld ný og óð
2. Von
3. Mistur
4. Syndir Guðs (Opinberun frelsarans)
5. Rukrym


Latest Tweets