Beat Street Records

Siouxsie & The Banshees - Scream Picture Disc LP


Picture disc vinyl pressing of Siouxsie and the Banshees's Steve Lillywhite-produced 1978 debut The Scream. Despite evolving from a group of Sex Pistols fans, the band eschewed the cliches of punk, offering instead an austere and bleak music. Bassist Steve Severin and drummer Kenny Morris provide simple, teutonic-style patterns over whichSiouxsie Sioux wails in the manner of former Velvet Underground chanteuse Nico. Unremitting original songs are joined by a version of the Beatles "Helter Skelter," which the Banshees interpret with the full knowledge of its inspiration for murderer Charles Manson. The Scream is an apt title for such desolate music. The audio for this picture disc has been remastered by Kevin Metcalfe at Soundmasters.

  1. Pure
  2. Jigsaw Feeling
  3. Overground
  4. Carcass
  5. Helter Skelter
  6. Mirage
  7. Metal Postcard (Mittageisen)
  8. Nicotine Stain
  9. Suburban Relapse
  10. Switch


Latest Tweets