Beat Street Records

Soccer Mommy - Color Theory LP (Color Vinyl)

Loma Vista Recordings

For Sophie Allison aka Soccer Mommy, Color Theory confronts the ongoing mental health and familial trials that have plagued the 22-year-old artist since pre-pubescence, presenting listeners with an uncompromisingly honest self-portrait, and reminding us exactly why her critically-acclaimed debut, 2018's Clean, made her a hero to many. The new album's sonic landscape is vast and dexterous, with melodies that shimmer on the surface, but reveal an unsettling darkness with each listen. "I wanted the experience of listening to color theory to feel like finding a dusty old cassette tape that has become messed up over time, because that's what this album is: an expression of all the things that have slowly degraded me personally," Allison explains. "The production warps, the guitar solos occasionally glitch, the melodies can be poppy and deceptively cheerful. To me, it sounds like the music of my childhood distressed and, in some instances, decaying."

  1. Bloodstream
  2. Circle the Drain
  3. Royal Screw Up
  4. Night Swimming
  5. Crawling In My Skin
  6. Yellow Is the Color of Her Eyes
  7. Up the Walls
  8. Lucy
  9. Stain
  10. Gray Light


Latest Tweets