Beat Street Records

Soul Christmas - Soul Christmas LP


Issued on Atco Records in 1968, Soul Christmas is a first-rate compilation of previously released and newly recorded Christmas classics and originals by R&B/soul legends like Clarence Carter ("Back Door Santa"), King Curtis ("The Christmas Song," "What Are You Doing New Year's Eve"), Otis Redding ("White Christmas," "Merry Christmas Baby"), Joe Tex ("I'll Make Every Day Christmas (For My Woman)"), Booker T & The MG's ("Silver Bells," "Jingle Bells"), Carla Thomas ("Gee Whiz, It's Christmas"), Solomon Burke ("Presents For Christmas") and William Bell ("Every Day Will Be Like A Holiday").
"The stars of the Atco Records R&B roster came together for this fantastic 1968 set. The best rock & roll Christmas albums stay true to tradition while spinning it in fun new directions, and this perfects that balance. Otis Redding does a slow, heart-weary "White Christmas" and a satisfied, Southern-fried "Merry Christmas Baby," while Carla Thomas spins her signature hit "Gee Whiz" into the fireplace-stoking forget-me-not "Gee Whiz, It's Christmas." And then there's Clarence Carter's stocking-stuffer supreme, "Back Door Santa" – "I ain't like old Saint Nick/He don't come but once a year/I come runnin' with my presents every time you call me, dear." - #8 on Rolling Stone's 25 Greatest Christmas Albums of All Time
1.  Clarence Carter - Back Door Santa
2.  King Curtis - The Christmas Song
3.  Otis Redding - White Christmas
4.  Joe Tex - I'll Make Every Day Christmas (For My Woman)
5.  Booker T. & The MG's - Silver Bells
6.  Carla Thomas - Gee Whiz, It's Christmas
7.  Otis Redding - Merry Christmas Baby
8.  Solomon Burke - Presents For Christmas
9.  Booker T. & The MG's - Jingle Bells
10. William Bell - Every Day Will Be Like A Holiday
11. King Curtis - What Are You Doing New Year's Eve


Latest Tweets