Beat Street Records

The Beach Boys - Surfer Girl LP


Surfer Girl was mixed in stereo by the band's preferred engineer, Chuck Britz, ostensibly under the group's supervision. "Brian may or may not have been present for those mixing sessions - evidence suggests that he trusted Chuck's skills enough to let him prepare those mixes on his own - but the group held onto their multitrack tapes and delivered stereo masters to Capitol, rather than allowing Capitol to prepare their own stereo versions. Later, when Brian was only delivering mono masters, Capitol would prepare the Duophonic pseudo stereo editions for the stereo market," says Alan Boyd, producer and Beach Boys' archivist.

Their second of three albums the Beach Boys released in 1963 alone, Surfer Girl found Wilson looming larger than ever in the songwriting department and handling 100% of the production duties for the first time. Home to the hit title track ballad and hot rod shuffle "Little Deuce Coupe," Surfer Girl made it crystal clear the Beach Boys had officially become the preeminent American band of the 1960s.
Track Listing:

1.  Surfer Girl
2.  Catch A Wave
3.  The Surfer Moon
4.  South Bay Surfer
5.  The Rocking Surfer
6.  Little Deuce Coupe
7.  In My Room
8.  Hawaii
9.  Surfer's Rule
10. Our Car Club
11. Your Summer Dream
12. Boogie Woogie


Latest Tweets