Beat Street Records

Eccentric Soul: The Tragar & Note Labels 2LP (Orange Marble Vinyl)


Atlanta’s original Eccentric Soul labels, Jesse Jones’ Tragar & Note concerns captured critical regional R&B, soul, and funk from 1968-1976. Compiling 34 tracks and sprawled across two LPs, this 15 year anniversary deluxe edition appears on vinyl for the first time. Featuring rare-as-hens-teeth 45s by Eula Cooper, Tee Fletcher, Richard Cook, Frankie & Robert, Tokay Lewis, Nathan Wilkes, Chuck Wilder, Bill Wright, Sonia Ross, Sandy Gaye, Four Tracks, Young Divines, and several others we can’t fit on a hype sticker.

1. Down in the Country
2. You Got a Spell on Me
3. Shake Daddy Shake
4. Tipping Strings
5. Nitecap
6. Sweet Thing
7. I'll Be There
8. Somebody Got'a Help Me
9. Love It's Been So Long
10. The Hump
11. The Clown
12. Who Wants Me Now
13. Now That I'm Wise
14. Tumbling Down
15. Heavenly Father
16. What Can the Matter Be
17. Love Is So Mean
18. You're the Only Thing I've Got Going for Me
19. Every Now and Then
20. Watch the Dog That Bring the Bone
21. Messin' Around
22. How Can I Hit the Ball
23. All Because of You
24. Standing By Love
25. Charade
26. Deep in Your Heart
27. I Need You More
28. Why
29. Let Me Be Free
30. Try
31. Ain't That Sharp
32. Too Beautiful to Be Good
33. Breaking My Heart
34. You Mean Everything to Me