Get On Down

Schoolly D - Saturday Night: The Album LP


The O-est of Gs, Schoolly D originally released his second full-length, Saturday Night: The Album in 1986, on his own imprint. Schoolly – and this release – are considered by many to be the genesis of gangster rap and were highly influential to all who followed. Schoolly was picked up by Jive Records in 1987, and an expanded version of Saturday Night: The Album was released. This album contains ten tracks of all killer no filler! All beats were made by Schoolly D and his legendary TR-909 drum machine. This album is a perfect blend of raw and funky from the King of Philly – finally with a vinyl reissue in a lemon pepper colored vinyl pressing just for Record Store Day 2024.

A Side
1. Housing the Joint
2. We Get Ill
3. Do It, Do It
4. Dedication to All B-Boys
5. Get N' Paid
6. Dis Groove Is Bad

B Side
1. Parkside 5-2
2. B-Boy Rhyme and Riddle
3. Saturday Night
4. It's Krack