Beat Street Records

DJ Quik - Quik Is The Name LP + Download


Quik is the Name is the platinum-certified 1991 debut from Compton, California gangsta rap pioneer DJ Quik. Issued on Profile Records and largely recorded in the same Westlake Recording Studio that Michael Jackson's Thriller was created, the all-time classic masterfully mixes Quik's legendary '70s soul and funk infused beat crafting with his well known gangsta bravado, solidifying the hip hop sub-genre and its marketability with the hit singles "Born And Raised In Compton" and "Tonite."

  1. Sweet Black Pussy
  2. Tonite
  3. Born and Raised In Compton
  4. Deep
  5. Tha Bombudd
  6. Dedication
  7. Quik Is The Name
  8. Loked Out Hood
  9. 8 Ball
  10. Quik's Groove
  11. Tear It Off
  12. I Got That Feelin'
  13. Skanless