On-U Sound

African Head Charge - Songs Of Praise 2LP


Songs of Praise was originally issued in 1990 and is considered by most fans to be African Head Charge's masterpiece. One of the prominent elements throughout AHC's discography has been the ethnomusicology influence. On Songs Of Praise this is even more pronounced, featuring religious chants set to an African dub backdrop of hand percussion, with a mighty sonic and great musicianship. A significant record both for African Head Charge and On-U Sound. For this reissue the album has been expanded to a double LP with all the tracks from the original vinyl release plus bonus tracks previously only available on CD. Also includes a double-sided poster insert with excerpts from a new interview with band leader Bonjo Iyabinghi Noah.


  1. Free Chant (Churchical Chant Of The Iyabinghi)
  2. Orderliness, Godliness, Discipline And Dignity
  3. Hymn
  4. Dervish Chant
  5. Hold Some More
  6. Healing Father
  7. Healing Ceremony
  8. Cattle Herders Chant


  1. Ethiopian Praises
  2. My God
  3. Gospel Train
  4. Chant For The Spirits
  5. God Is Great
  6. Deer Spirit Song
  7. Full Charge
  8. Fullness