Amy Winehouse - Lioness: Hidden Treasures 2LP


Posthumous Third Release featuring Previously Unreleased Tracks, Alternate Versions of Existing Classics and Brand New Compositions

Following her tragic passing on July 23, 2011, some of the producers and musicians who worked closely with 5x Grammy Award winning artist Amy Winehouse, among them Salaam Remi and Mark Ronson, spent time listening over the many recordings that Amy had made, before, during, and after the release of albums Frankand Back To Black.

It was said by all who worked with Amy that she never sang or played a song the same way twice. It quickly became apparent to both Remi and Ronson that they had a collection of songs that deserved to be heard, a collection of songs that were a fitting testament to Amy the artist and, as importantly, Amy their friend.

Lioness: Hidden Treasures, the third album from Amy Winehouse, is a 12-track collection of previously unreleased tracks, alternate versions of existing classics as well as a couple of brand new Winehouse compositions, compiled by long-time collaborators Salaam Remi and Mark Ronson in close association with Amy's family, management and UK record label Island Records.


"Our Day Will Come," is a reggae re-working of the classic 60's doo wop song produced by Salaam Remi, recorded in May of 2002.

"Between The Cheats" is a new Winehouse composition recorded in London in May of 2008 for potential inclusion on album three, produced by Salaam Remi.

"Tears Dry," originally written by Amy as a ballad, is the original version she recorded in November of 2005 in Miami with Salaam. The later uptempo version appears on Back To Black.

"Wake Up Alone" is the first song recorded for the Back To Black sessions. This is the one-take demo recorded in March of 2006 by Paul O'Duffy.

"Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow" is Amy's beautiful reading of the Carole King written Shirelles classic. Produced by Mark Ronson and featuring the Dap Kings with string arrangements by Chris Elliott who did all the strings for Mark's tracks on Back To Black. Recorded in September of 2004.

"Valerie" is one of Amy's jukebox favorites. This is the original slower tempo version of the Mark Ronson produced post Back To Black single. Recorded in December of 2006.

"Like Smoke" (featuring Nas). Amy and Nas became really good friends after Amy name checked the New York rapper on Back To Black's "Me & Mr Jones." "Like Smoke" is finally Amy doing a song with one of her favorite artists. Produced by Salaam Remi. Recorded in May of 2008.

"The Girl From Ipanema," the first song the 18 year old Amy sang when she first went to Miami to record with Salaam. Salaam remarked that "the way she re-interpreted this bossa nova classic made me realize that I was dealing with a very special talent. Her approach to the song was so young and fresh, it really inspired the rest of our sessions." Recorded in May of 2002.

"Halftime." Amy had talked to Ahmir 'Questlove' Thompson of the Roots about working together. "Halftime" is a song that Amy and Salaam had worked on since the Frank sessions. The result is beautiful. Recorded in August of 2002.

"Best Friends." Frank era live set opener produced by Salaam Remi. Probably the first song that early Amy fans would have heard live. Recorded in February of 2003.

"Body & Soul," a cover of the 30's jazz standard with hero Tony Bennett. Recorded at Abbey Road Studios, London in March of 2011 and produced by Phil Ramone. Amy's final studio recording.

"A Song For You," a heartbreaking and emotional version of the Leon Russell classic made famous by Donny Hathaway. Hathaway was Amy's all-time favorite artist and the song was recorded in one take, just Amy and her guitar, at her home in London during the Spring of 2009. Produced by Salaam Remi.

Track Listing:

1.  Our Day Will Come
2.  Between the Cheats
3.  Tears Dry
4.  Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow?
5.  Like Smoke
6.  Valerie ('68 version)

1. The Girl From Ipanema
2. Half Time
3. Wake Up Alone
4. Best Friend, Right?
5. Body and Soul
6. A Song For You