Dignified Records

Curtis Clear Sky And The Constellationz - Indigifunk LP


Curtis Clear Sky and Constellationz are Vancouver based with global backgrounds who create Indigifunk music and culture and it consists of Hip-hop, Funk, Latin-Funk, Soul, Ska, Reggae and Blues. 


Curtis has been incrementally professionally developing music for several years. Curtis received two Emerging Artist grants from First People’s Cultural Council (FPCC) to record the album.  


The songs are recorded with a talented diverse collective of Vancouver based musicians from global backgrounds who create Curtis Clear Sky and the Constellationz. The music culture and the title of the album is INDIGIFUNK. It consists of Hip-hop with Latin-Funk, Soul, Ska, Reggae and Blues. 


The INDIGIFUNK album was recorded at Absolute Time Studios, 1907 W 5th Ave in Vancouver BC with recorder Kat Hendrix who co-produced the album. Kat Hendrix contributed the drumming on the recordings and has over 50 years of music experience including drumming for the Incredible Bongo Band’s -Apache the famous foundational Hip-hop break-beat. The funky bass is by Peter “Rusty” Beach (Jamaica). Latin congas by Wilson Mendes (Brazil). The beautiful female vocals are by Tia Taurere-Clear Sky of Indigenous Maori descent (Aotearoa-New Zealand). Professional singer extraordinaire Jennifer Kreisberg of the Indigenous women’s singing group Ulali contributes her powerful harmonies. Session player Leroy “Andy” Pierpont (Belize) is on trombone. German Cantillo (Nicaragua) leads with the Latin-funk guitar. DJ Su Comandante (El Salvador) provides the Hip-hop scratching.  Juno award winning bluesman Murray Porter sings and plays keys on the song Turtle Island. 

Hide Credits
1 Universal Health 4:20
2 Lasting Love 4:22
3 Mobilize 3:47
4 Survive N Honor 4:41
5 Facebook 3:04
6 We Will 4:53
7 Hip-Hop Round Dance 4:05
8 Broken Treaties
Featuring – Arther "Sugar" Montour
Featuring – Arther "Sugar" Montour
9 Turtle Island
Featuring – Murray Porter
Featuring – Murray Porter