Tommy Boy

Digital Underground - Sex Packets 2LP

Featuring the runaway hit single "The Humpty Dance," Sex Packets is the earth shattering, multi-platinum 1990 debut from pop music's hippest heroes, Digital Underground. Recognized as one of the first hip hop bands, Digital Underground included Chopmaster J, Shock G, Money B, DJ Fuze and the then 18-year-old Tupac Amaru Shakur. The group's meteoric rise to fame in the early '90's was accentuated with chart topping hits like "Doowutchyalike," "Freaks of the Industry," "Same Song" and "Kiss You Back." 

The band made waves with their colorful and costumed attire, animated stage antics and innovative dance styling and moves. However, Digital Underground is best remembered for turning hip hop on its proverbial head and invading the realm of pop with their 1990 pivotal Grammy nominated release "The Humpty Dance." The track climbed all the way to #11 on the pop charts, #7 on the R&B charts, and #1 on the Billboard Rap Singles chart. "The Humpty Dance" is one of the most sampled songs recorded by a hip hop/rap artist.  

The group's contribution to history has tentacles that reach even further though. From their 12 inch drop, "Doowutchyalike" to their debut album Sex Packets, D.U.'s music unfastened a door in hip hop that was previously non-existent, mixing mad merriment, mayhem and sex with rhyme, rhythm and rap. Factor in the detail that rap music's biggest legend, Tupuc Shakur, started his music career with the group as their roadie, dancer and emcee and the D.U. legacy is all but cemented in the annals of pop music history.
1. The Humpty Dance
2. The Way We Swing
3. Packet Prelude
4. Sex Packets
5. Street Scene
6. Packet Man
7. Freaks of the Industry
8. Underwater Rimes (Remix)
9. The New Jazz (One)
10. Rhymin' on the Funk
11. The Danger Zone
12. Packet Reprise
13. Doowutchyalike