Earl Sweatshirt - Some Rap Songs LP


Earl Sweatshirt returns after a three year hiatus with his brisk third studio album, Some Rap Songs which offers up 15-songs in just 24-minutes. The follow-up to 2015's I Don't Like Shit, I Don't Go Outside was inspired by the death of his father, former South African poet laureate Keorapetse Kgositsile, who is featured on the record. "I hope what people take away is...I guess just brevity," Earl explained to Vulture. "I'm always trying to whittle this shit down...I have to be really thoughtful of what I'm doing. Music is a really powerful thing, and the people that I feel, like, get applauded for the subtlety are the people that care and are aware of the powerful shit that they're wielding. I'm aware of the fact that [Some Rap Songs] is kind of a hissing thing. There's a lot of technical imperfections. The track list has gotta be perfect, and the song gotta loop perfect, and I gotta exit before...I really dedicate a lot of myself to not over-rapping."

  1. Shattered Dreams
  2. Red Water
  3. Cold Summers
  4. Nowhere2go
  5. December 24
  6. Ontheway! [Feat. Standing On the Corner]
  7. The Mint [Feat. Navy Blue]
  8. The Bends
  9. Loosie
  10. Azucar
  11. Eclipse
  12. Veins
  13. Playing Possum [Feat. Cheryl Harris & Keorapetse Kgositsile]
  14. Peanut
  15. Riot!