Beat Street Records

Janelle Monae - Dirty Computer 2LP

Bad Boy

Grammy-nominated artist Janelle Monae returns with her highly anticipated third studio album, Dirty Computer. Praised for its cinematic range and vision, the record comes preceded by the anthemic singles "Make Me Feel," "Django Jane," "PYNK" feat. Grimes and "I Like That," propelled by electric vocals, pop hooks and confident, female-driven lyrics. Brian Wilson, Zoe Kravitz and Pharrell Williams also appear on Dirty Computer. "Dirty pleasingly warm and punchy from front to back. '80s new wave and '90s pop rock inform the palette more than loungey R&B, as it was on her 2010 masterpiece, The ArchAndroid, or spaghetti Western sounds, which marked 2013's rangy The Electric Lady. Prince, as always, looms large too: "Kiss"-like guitar jangles emerge on the punkish rally of "Screwed" and amid the sphinxlike grooves of "Make Me Feel," while the caffeinated and clever "American" reads as a "Let's Go Crazy" tribute" (The Atlantic).


  1. Dirty Computer (feat. Brian Wilson)
  2. Crazy, Classic, Life
  3. Take A Byte
  4. Jane's Dream
  5. Screwed (feat. Zoë Kravitz)
  6. Django Jane
  7. Pynk (feat. Grimes)


  1. Make Me Feel
  2. I Got The Juice (feat. Pharrell Williams)
  3. I Like That
  4. Don't Judge Me
  5. Stevie's Dream
  6. So Afraid
  7. Americans