Leon Bridges - Coming Home LP (180g) + Download

Leon Bridges is the ‘out of almost nowhere’ story that only comes along once in a while. Awareness of Bridges and his unique craft continues to grow authentically and consistently. It was only last summer that Leon was singing open mics in his hometown of Fort Worth, TX. One of those open mics was attended by Austin Jenkins and Josh Block of the notable indie band White Denim who were absolutely floored by Leon's voice, songs, and creative vision. 
They soon after set-up shop in a makeshift studio and recorded the throwback rhythm and blues album's title cut "Coming Home" completely live to tape. This first take is exactly what you hear opening the record. The remaining 9 songs including previously released tracks "Better Man" and "Lisa Sawyer" followed in a burst of creativity and inspiration.
"Recorded live at Jenkins and Block's Niles City Sound studio, using only vintage equipment, "Coming Home" explores the reasons why gospel meeting soul worked so magically at the dawn of the 1960s: the swing, the intimate relationship between background and lead vocals, the way the descending organ line works a pirouette around the triplets Bridges sings. This kind of perfection is always relevant." - Ann Powers, NPR
Leon Bridges Coming Home Track Listing:
1.  Coming Home
2.  Better Man
3.  Brown Skin Girl
4.  Smooth Sailin’
5.  Shine
6.  Lisa Sawyer
7.  Flowers
8.  Pull Away
9.  Twistin’ & Groovin’
10. River