Beat Street Records

Mad Season - Above 2LP


Includes the Original Album plus 3 Songs from the Band's Unfinished 2nd Album w/ Newly Recorded Vocals by Mark Lanegan, a Previously Unreleased Instrumental & Remixed Version of a Cover of John Lennon's "I Don't Wanna Be A Soldier"

1995's Above is the lone album from the Seattle supergroup Mad Season featuring vocalist Layne Staley (Alice In Chains), guitarist Mike McCready (Pearl Jam), bassist John Baker Saunders, and drummer Barrett Martin (Screaming Trees). Screaming Trees vocalist Mark Lanegan and saxophonist Nalgas Sin Carne also make appearances here as well. 

Staley's haunting sincerity is supported masterfully by the group's beautiful melodies and inviting hooks throughout the 10-song set which offers fans just enough of what they have come to love about the members' respective groups to go along with something altogether different. Recorded at Bad Animals Studio in Seattle, WA with producer Brett Eliason, Abovewas certified gold on the strength of the popular singles "River of Deceit," "I Don't Know Anything" and "Long Gone Day." 

This expanded double 12" vinyl edition from Sony/Legacy includes the original album in its entirety as well as three songs from the band's unfinished second album with newly recorded vocals by Mark Lanegan, a previously unreleased instrumental, "Interlude,"and a remixed version of Mad Season's cover of John Lennon's "I Don't Wanna Be A Soldier."

Track Listing:

1.  Wake Up
2.  X-Ray Mind
3.  River of Deceit
4.  I'm Above
5.  Artificial Red
6.  Lifeless Dead
7.  I Don't Know Anything

1.  Long Gone Day
2.  November Hotel
3.  All Alone
4.  Interlude
5.  Locomotive
6.  Black Book of Fear
7.  Slip Away
8.  I Don't Wanna Be A Soldier