Beat Street Records

Melvins - Bullhead LP


Available once again on vinyl with updated artwork and a new gatefold sleeve is Bullhead, the Melvins groundbreaking 1991 follow-up to 1989's Ozma. The songs are longer, the mood is calmer, yet more menacing. "Boris" (which gave the Japanese group their name) is a long, slow, low death march of addiction and self-abuse. "Zodiac" is a frantic punk rock machine gun blasting away at Buzz Osborne's demons (both inner and outer). "Cow" is a happy baboon bashing away at the best drum solo of his life. "It's Shoved" is a groovy beat for the cast of Shindig to bop along to, until their carefree performances of The Pony, The Mashed Potato, and The Watusi are horribly interrupted by the soundstage tilting up and sliding them all into a mangled heap of screaming dancers, broken cameras and flaming electronic equipment.

  1. Boris
  2. Anaconda
  3. Ligature
  4. It's Shoved
  5. Zodiac
  6. If I Had An Exorcism
  7. Your Blessened
  8. Cow