MGMT - Congratulations 2LP

aFormed in 2002 in Brooklyn, NY, MGMT consists of multi-instrumentalists Andrew VanWyngarden and Ben Goldwasser, both alumni of Wesleyan University. The pair was drawn to the music of other duos and found themselves incorporating the implications of the hallucinatory power of the Incredible String Band, the roaring subway minimalist electronica of Suicide, the silky pop-soul of Hall & Oates, the pulsing narcotic trance of Spacemen 3, the avant garde industrial romanticism of Royal Trux and much more into the constantly evolving sounds of MGMT.

One of 2010's most eagerly anticipated releases, Congratulations is the successor to MGMT's Oracular Spectacular, the 2008 debut which established the Brooklyn duo as pop visionaries. Congratulations is a soulful and complex collection of nine musical tours de force sequenced to flow with sonic and thematic coherence. Co-produced with Sonic Boom (Spacemen 3), the record finds the duo taking an uncompromising quantum step forward while embracing more unconventional pop structures and a progressive, guitar-driven sound. Newly remastered from the original analog tapes and pressed on 180g double vinyl courtesy of Legacy Recordings.

Track Listing:

1.  It's Working
2.  Song For Dan Treacy
3.  Someone's Missing
4.  Flash Delirium
5.  I Found A Whistle

1.  Siberian Breaks
2.  Brian Eno
3.  Lady Dada's Nightmare
4.  Congratulations