Miles Davis - Porgy And Bess LP (Mono)


On their second conceptual album together, Miles Davis and arranger Gil Evans offered up a profound reinterpretation of George Gershwin's famed opera Porgy and Bess. A landmark release in orchestral jazz and arguably the best of their many collaborations, Evans’ adaptation of Gershwin’s score here is a veritable tour de force and although the outing features strong performances from Cannonball Adderley (alto sax), Paul Chambers (bass) and Jimmy Cobb (drums), Davis' poignant trumpet playing is the unequivocal star. Transcendent material like "Summertime" and "I Loves You Porgy" display the true beauty of Miles Davis and Gil Evans' collective genius, their ability to reach the listener on not only a musical level but an emotional one as well. 180g LP from Legacy Recordings presented in pristine mono and featuring the original album track-listing.

Track Listing:

1.  The Buzzard Song 
2.  Bess, You Is My Woman Now 
3.  Gone 
4.  Gone, Gone, Gone 
5.  Summertime 
6.  Oh Bess, Oh Where's My Bess
7.  Prayer (Oh Doctor Jesus) 
8.  Fisherman, Strawberry and Devil Crab 
9.  My Man's Gone Now 
10. It Ain't Necessarily So 
11. Here Come De Honey Man 
12. I Loves You Porgy)
13. There's A Boat That's Leaving Soon For New York