Mos Def - Black On Both Sides 2LP


Regarded as one of hip-hop’s most introspective and insightful artists, Mos Def has shaped a career that transcends music genres and artistic medium. With the release of 1998 single, "Universal Magnetic," Mos became an underground favorite in the hip-hop world, leading to his legendary collaboration with Talib Kweli. The two formed the group Black Star, and issued the critically acclaimed debut album, Mos Def and Talib Kweli Are...Black Star the same year. 
He followed-up that release with his 1999 solo debut, Black On Both Sides, which was certified gold and is credited as bringing hip-hop back to its soapbox roots. Featuring live instrumentation and socially conscious lyrics, Black On Both Sides produced the two singles "Ms. Fat Booty" and "Umi Says" and includes guest appearances by Talib Kweli, Q-Tip, Busta Rhymes and Vinia Mojica. Continuing with the Respect The Classics campaign, UMe will be reissuing this classic album back on vinyl for the first time in over 10 years!
Mos Def Black On Both Sides Track Listing:  
1.  Fear Not of Man
2.  Hip Hop
3.  Love
4.  Ms. Fat Booty
5.  Speed Law
6.  Do It Now feat. Busta Rhymes
7.  Got
8.  Umi Says
1.  New World Water
2.  Rock N Roll
3.  Know That feat. Talib Kweli
4.  Climb feat. Vinia Mojica
5.  Brooklyn
6.  Habitat
7.  Mr. Nigga feat. Q-Tip
8.  Mathematics
9.  May-December