Nine Inch Nails - Pretty Hate Machine 2LP (2010 Remaster)


After completing the score for David Fincher's The Social Network, Trent Reznor oversaw the remastering of Pretty Hate Machine from the newly unearthed original tapes with engineer Tome Baker (The Downward Spiral, Broken, The Fragile, With Teeth and Ghosts). This remastered version includes an eleventh track, a cover of Queen's "Get Down Make Love," originally the B-side to the "Sin" single and produced by Al Jourgensen. Rob Sheridan, NIN's longtime art director, has also re-imagined the packaging of Pretty Hate Machine under Reznor's supervision.

As a young musician in Cleveland, Ohio, Reznor took a job at a local recording studio and employed unused studio time to develop his own material. The nascent album was later recorded with his favorite producers including Flood/Mark Ellis (U2, Depeche Mode, PJ Harvey), John Fryer (Cocteau Twins, This Mortal Coil), Adrian Sherwood (Ministry, Cabaret Voltaire) and Keith LeBlanc (Tackhead). The result was the first Nine Inch Nails album, 1989's Pretty Hate Machine. All songs were written, arranged, programmed and performed by Reznor. The album featured the breakthrough singles "Sin," "Down In It" and "Head Like A Hole," and ultimately sold over 3 million copies, reaching Triple Platinum sales status.

The Bicycle Music Company acquired the rights to Pretty Hate Machine from a division of Prudential Securities in the spring of 2010. It was Bicycle's intention from the onset to enable Reznor to regain some control of this lost piece of NIN's legacy, resulting in this artist approved 2010 reissue of one of music's most groundbreaking and influential albums.

Track Listing:

1.  Head Like A Hole
2.  Terrible Lie
3.  Down In It
4.  Sanctified
5.  Something I Can Never Have
6.  Kinda I Want To
7.  Sin
8.  That's What I Get
9.  The Only Time
10. Ringfinger
11. Get Down, Make Love