Beat Street Records

Parliament - Chocolate City LP


Inspired by Motown‘s assembly line of sound, George Clinton gradually put together a collective of over 50 musicians and recorded the ensemble during the '70s both as Parliament and Funkadelic. While Funkadelic pursued band-format psychedelic rock, Parliament engaged in a funk free-for-all, blending influences from the godfathers (James Brown and Sly Stone) with freaky costumes and themes inspired by '60s acid culture and science fiction. Clinton began introducing a lot of elements of Funkadelic into the Parliamentfold at the time of Chocolate City's 1975 release yet the tracks are still short and very tight, with a focused approach to both funk and male and female lyrical interaction. Chocolate Cityis anchored by the sublime title cut, a singular political number that mirrors the album's cover art. One of the most unified albums that Clinton ever recorded!

  1. Chocolate City
  2. Ride On
  3. Together
  4. Side Effects
  5. What Comes Funky
  6. Let Me Be
  7. If It Don't Fit (Don't Force It)
  8. I Misjudged You
  9. Big Footin'