Beat Street Records

Slayer - Seasons In The Abyss LP




Ten studio albums of original material, thousands of live shows and over three decades into a career that's made them one of the biggest and most important metal bands in the world - the music of thrash metal legends Slayer is as brutal as it is beautiful, as punishing as it is precise, and as uncompromising as it is influential. 

The Chicago Tribune's Greg Kot hailed Slayer as "one of the great American rock bands of the last 30 years, forget about genre." Indeed, few bands come close to matching the intensity that Slayer - past and present - brings to its album releases and live shows. The band has received numerous nominations and awards, including four Grammy nods and two wins.

American Recordings will reissue ten of Slayer’s seminal albums on vinyl. All ten albums will be available individually and were re-mastered from the original analog flat master tapes and pressed on the highest quality, 180-gram audiophile vinyl. Albums include all nine of Slayer’s studio recordings, Reign In Blood (1986), South of Heaven (1988), Seasons In The Abyss (1990), Divine Intervention (1994), Undisputed Attitude (1996), Diabolus In Musica (1998), God Hates Us All (2001), Christ Illusion (2006), and World Painted Blood (2009), plus their live double-record Decade of Aggression: Live (1991). 

Each title will feature the original album artwork including reproductions of the original 12 x 12 inner sleeves. For the first U.S. run, 500 unmarked copies will be pressed on 180-gram, blood red, colored vinyl and randomly inserted as part of a “lucky dip.” As American Recordings’ owner and long-time Slayer producer Rick Rubin put it, “Slayer defines speed metal and these albums define Slayer. Listen at your own risk.”

1990's Seasons In The Abyss is Slayer's fifth full-length effort and follow-up to the band's exploratory 1988 release South of Heaven. Slayer's third consecutive release produced by Rick Rubin finds the band restoring the immediacy of their 1986 high water mark Reign In Blood while simultaneously expanding their accessibility with refined riffs, decisive melodies and crisp arrangements. Includes the blazing Slayer favorites "War Ensemble," "Dead Skin Mask" and "Seasons In The Abyss."

Track Listing:

1.  War Ensemble
2.  Blood Red
3.  Spirit In Black
4.  Expendable Youth
5.  Dead Skin Mask
6.  Hallowed Point
7.  Skeletons of Society
8.  Temptation
9.  Born of Fire
10. Seasons in the Abyss