Sonny Rollins - On Impulse! LP


Reissue of the saxophone colossus' debut on Impulse! Records featuring pianist Ray Bryant (whose "graceful, complex solos deserve considerable praise and attention" says Harvey Pekar in JazzTimes), bassist Walter Booker and drummer Mickey Roker. Pressed on 180g black vinyl at United Pressing, and mastered from the original tapes recorded at Rudy Van Gelder studio, On Impulse! is being faithfully reissued with all the original artwork and liner note content, including an essay by legendary jazz writer Nat Hentoff. Thom Jurek writes in review that the album "feels as if it were a recording Rollins had to get out of his system. But thank goodness for us because it's a winner through and through." This album is also significant in that marks the only time Rollins and the soulful pianist Ray Byrant recorded together. Here the sparks fly on these five tasty jazz standards!

Side A: 1. On Green Dolphin Street 2. Everything Happens To Me Side B: 1. Hold 'Em Joe 2. Blue Room 3. Three Little Words