The Cure - The Head On The Door LP (180g)


Originally a postpunk outfit with gothic leanings, The Cure evolved into one of the most visionary, creatively satisfying and influential groups to come of age in the 1980's. From dreamy pop to moody expressionism, their signature sound is adventurous, hypnotic, and rich with texture. Formed in 1976 by Robert Smith and schoolmates Michael Dempsey (bass) and Laurence Tolhurst (drums), The Cure's stunning 1979 debut on U.K.-based Fiction Records launched an extraordinary career and enduring worldwide popularity.

The Cure's 1985 album Head On The Door - their sixth full-length overall - marked another turning point for the band with its emerging pop sensibilities and talented new line-up that saw the return of bassist Simon Gallup, the re-induction of early-era guitarist Porl Thompson, and the debut of drummer Boris Williams. Co-produced with David M. Allen, the adventurous 10-track effort is still dark yet danceable and altogether infectious, home to the vibrant hit singles "In Between Days" and "Close To Me." Head On The Door was the first glimpse of the pop heights the Cure was perfectly capable of reaching.

1. In Between Days
2. Kyoto Song
3. The Blood
4. Six Different Ways
5. Push
6. The Baby Screams
7. Close To Me
8. A Night Like This
9. Screw
10. Sinking