Beat Street Records

Yellow Magic Orchestra - Ymo USA & Yellow Magic Orchestra 2LP


Sold out.

Limited 180 gram audiophile vinyl LP pressing in gatefold jacket including four page booklet. Housed in a PVC sleeve. This first YMO album was released in 1978 in Japan and set a precedent in the music industry like never before. By releasing this daring album, YMO shook the world with their synthpop, at the time a revelation as well as a revolution. YMO created their own sound, far ahead of it's time. The band was amongst the first to use a 'computer music composer', which was a programmed Roland MC-8 Microcomposer developed by Hideki Matsutake (composer, arranger and computer programmer). The trio mainly used electronic equipment on this album. The only acoustic instruments used were a piano and marimba percussion set. This type of production was never heard of before and set about a new movement within the music business. Featuring the hit 'Firecracker', an infectious and exotic Martin Denny cover, which became a staple in the early hip hop scene in New York.

1. Computer Game 'Theme from the Circus'
2. Firecracker
3. Simoon
4. Cosmic Surfin'
5. Computer Game 'Theme from the Invader'
6. Yellow Magic (Tong Poo)
7. La Femme Chinoise
8. Bridge Over Troubled Music
9. Mad Pierrot 1
10. Computer Game 'Theme from the Circus' 1
11. Firecracker 1
12. Simoon 1
13. Cosmic Surfin' 1
14. Computer Game 'Theme from the Invader' 1
15. Tong Poo 1
16. La Femme Chinoise 1
17. Bridge Over Troubled Music 1
18. Mad Pierrot 1
19. Acrobat